"Guard your Health"

 

Announcements:

Coming in the Summer of 2010!

(August 14-21, 2010)

 

Camp Meechimuk's Pictures:

 * Outdoor Activities (Pictures)

 * Indoor Activities (Pictures)

 * Other Activities (Pictures)

 * Camp Meechimuk's Uniform (Pictures)

Camp Meechimuk's Forms:

<Camp's Brochure>

English | Spanish

<Children's Application>

<Volunteers' Application>

 

Who We Are:

Hispanos Unidos, Inc. was the first Latino organization in the State of Connecticut to become involved with the problems generated by the HIV/AIDS epidemic. It was founded in 1987 as an organization of education and prevention of HIV/AIDS.

We work in coordination with other organizations dedicated to the fight of HIV and other health problems in order to facilitate access to services within the Greater New Haven area.  Hispanos Unidos also has a satellite site in the City of Meriden.

Our service delivery is based on a culturally responsive format and is carried out by fully bilingual and bi-cultural staff.

 

<BACK TO TOP>

What We Do:

We provide prevention training in places such as:

  • Schools (Pictures)
  • Drug and alcohol treatment centers
  • Senior citizen centers
  • Community-based organizations (Pictures)
  • Health Centers (Pictures)
  • Churches

 

<BACK TO TOP>

Services:

  • Medical case management for persons living with HIV/AIDS
  • Mental health services
  • Substance abuse services
  • Medication and treatment adherence services
  • Prevention education services
  • Summer camp for affected children
  • Support groups
  • Client advocacy
  • Outreach services
  • Referral services

 

<BACK TO TOP>

Mission:

To promote the health and well-being of the Latino community and other disenfranchised populations through education, prevention, care and advocacy.

 

<BACK TO TOP>

CONTACT:

Luz Z. González, M.S.
Executive Director

lgonzalez@hispanos-unidos.org

Claudia Ahumada
HIV Prevention Services

Group Facilitator

cahumada@hispanos-unidos.org

Sylviana Lopez, BA
Medical Case Manager
     slopez@hispanos-unidos.org   

Tommy Arroyo, CAC, ICADC
Substance Abuse Counselor

tarroyo@hispanos-unidos.org

Elba Ramos
Treatment Advocate

    eramos@hispanos-unidos.org  

William Castillo, MS
Deputy Director

 

Valerie Rosario
Medical Case Manager

    vrosario@hispanos-unidos.org  

 

Irma M. Colón

 HIV Prevention Services

Program Manager

icolon@hispanos-unidos.org

Leana Ruiz
Medical Case Manager

    lruiz@hispanos-unidos.org  

 

Jenny Cubano
 Medical Case Manager

 

Albert Ruperti, BS
Medical Case Manager
aruperti@hispanos-unidos.org

 

 

Juan Diaz, LCSW

Mental Health Therapist


Ana Tavarez
HIV Prevention Services

Group Co-Facilitator
atavarez@hispanos-unidos.org

 

Jonas Hannestad, MD, PhD

Psychiatrist

jhannestad@hispanos-unidos.org

    

Roz Wimbish, BA
 Medical Case Manager

rwimbish@hispanos-unidos.org


Address

Hours of Services

1

116 Sherman Avenue, 1st floor
New Haven, CT 06511  [DIRECTIONS]

Tel: (203) 781-0226
Fax: (203) 781-0229

 

 

Mondays 8:00 a.m.-5:30 P.M.

Tuesdays 8:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m.

Wednesdays 8:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

Thursdays 8:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

      Closed daily for lunch from       12:00-12:30 p.m.

except on Tuesdays

<BACK TO TOP>

 

Any questions or comments regarding this website please contact: lgonzalez@hispanos-unidos.org

Copyright 2005 Hispanos Unidos Inc.